Unique place

The history of Azerbaijan is inextricably connected with the culture of cultivating pomegranate, which dates back centuries.
It is a southern country with a unique climate, in which one can distinguish as many as nine zones with different climatic conditions. Perhaps, it is due to this climatic diversity that almost all pomegranate varieties are cultivated in Azerbaijan. 

Annually, over 40 thousand tons of pomegranate are harvested here! 

 
Pomegranate is proudly called the “king of fruit”, with a special fest “Festival of Pomegranate” being devoted to it.

This juicy red fruit has become the country’s national symbol. 

Pomegranates are cultivated in substantially all regions of Azerbaijan, but the center of cultivation of the best pomegranate varieties is the Shirvan region located in a dry subtropical zone of the Goychay district. The Goychay pomegranate is known worldwide and has become a synonym for “true Azerbaijani pomegranate”, being appreciated in all parts of the world. The key to the secret of the perfect taste and health benefits of the Goychay pomegranate lies in the unique microclimate and special soil composition, which could be found nowhere else on Earth.

The plantations include 2 000 hectares of pomegranate trees, which annually yield 2,000 tons of pomegranates of unmatched flavor.

Species of Pomegranates

The plant selection breeders of the AZNAR factory brought three of the most delicious and the most common species of pomegranates:

  • Gyulosha Azerbaijan. The average fruit weight makes 300-400 grams. The peel of the fruit is pinkish-red in color, thin and shiny. The grains are large and have saturated bright red sour-sweet juice. The content of sugar reaches 20%. The acid content makes 1.8%. The fruits ripen in October and can be stored up to 3months.
  • Kyrmyzy-kabuh. Azerbaijani species of the pomegranate of the outstanding quality and with high yield. The fruit is large and makes from 350 to 400 grams. It is bright red in color and has a spherical shape. The grains are also large. The juice is of red color and has a sweet-sour taste. In the production of juice it can be obtained up to 45% from a single fruit. The sugar content makes up to 14.5% and the acid reaches 2.1%.The fruits ripen in the mid or late October and could be stored up to 5 months.
  • Nasik-kabuh. A local Azerbaijani species. The fruits are large. They weigh up to 400 grams and are of dark red color. The peel is thin, but the grains are large. One can get 48.8% of juice from one fruit, which tastes sour-sweet. The juice contains up to 12.3% of sugar and up to 2.6% of acid. The fruits ripen in the early or middle of October and can be stored up to 4 months. The cropping capacity is high.

PHOTOS

Уникальное место

История Азербайджана неотрывно связана с культурой выращивания граната, уходящей вглубь веков.
Это южная страна с удивительным климатом, в котором различают целых девять зон с разными условиями. Возможно, именно такое разнообразие климата способствовало тому, что в Азербайджане выращиваются почти все сорта граната.

Ежегодно здесь собирают более 40 тысяч тонн граната! 


Гранат гордо носит звание «король фруктов» и ему посвящен отдельный веселый праздник — Фестиваль граната.

Этот сочный красный плод стал национальным символом страны.


Гранаты выращиваются почти во всех регионах Азербайджана, но центром культивирования лучших сортов граната является регион Ширван, расположившийся в полосе сухих субтропиков Геокчайcкого района. Гранаты Геокчая завоевали мировое признание, и стали синонимом «настоящих азербайджанских гранатов» и ценятся по всему миру. Разгадка секрета совершенного вкуса и полезных свойств Геокчайских гранатов кроется в уникальном микроклимате и особом составе почв, которые не встречаются больше нигде в мире.
Именно здесь, в уникальном месте и расположен завод AZNAR и наши гранатовые плантации, фрукты которого мы используем для производства уникального по своему составу гранатового сока.
Плантации состоят из 2 000 га деревьев и ежегодно дают 2 000 тонн несравненных по вкусовым качествам гранатов.

Сорта гранатов

Геокчайскими селекционерами завода AZNAR были выведены три наиболее вкусных и самых распространенных сорта граната:
  • Гюлоша азербайджанская.  Средний вес плодов 300-400 граммов. Корка плодов розовато-красного цвета, тонкая и блестящая. Зерна отличаются крупными размерами и имеют насыщенный ярко-красный кисловато-сладкий сок. Содержание сахаров до 20%. Содержание кислоты до 1,8%. Плоды созревают в октябре и хранятся до 3 месяцев.
  • Кырмызы-кабух. Выдающийся по качеству азербайджанский сорт с высокой урожайностью. Плоды крупные от 350 до 400 граммов, ярко-красного цвета и имеют шаровидную форму. Крупные зерна. Сок красного цвета кисло-сладкого вкуса. Выход сока до 45% с одного плода. Содержание сахаров до 14,5%, кислоты до 2,1%. Плоды созревают в середине или в конце октября и хранятся до 5 месяцев.
  • Назик-кабух. Местный азербайджанский сорт. Плоды крупные до 400 граммов темно-красного цвета. Корка тонкая. Зерна крупные. Сок имеет выход 48,8% кисло сладкий на вкус. Содержит сахаров до 12,3%, и до 2,6% кислоты. Плоды созревают в начале или в середине октября, хранятся до 4 месяцев. Урожайность высокая.

ФОТОГРАФИИ